Caramel Apple Milky Way Deep Dish Cookie

I’m one of those people that once seasonal candies start showing up in stores I pick up one or two bags of my favorites and hoard them in the pantry. I’m usually most excited about the Halloween and Easter varieties. Christmas and Valentines don’t excite me too much.

As soon as Leah from So, How’s It Taste instagrammed a picture of some Caramel Apple Milky Way bars she had found I knew I’d need to pick some up. I did, but they sat on my kitchen counter for days as I tried to figure out what I wanted to do with them. I knew I wanted to bake something a bit more on the sweet and spice-ful side rather than something decadent and rich.

Then Leah did it again – she baked up some deep dish cookies with her Milky Way finds. I knew they’d be a big hit so I used her recipe for inspiration and added some cinnamon and fresh apples to the mix.

What’s your favorite Halloween treat? Do you eat it straight out of the wrapper or take it for a little spin in the kitchen? Either way, I hope it satisfies your sweet craving!

xo,

@

Caramel Apple Milky Way Deep Dish Cookie

[adapted from Leah’s Deep Dish Caramel Apple Milky Way Cookies at So, How’s It Taste?]

Prep Time : 20 minutes  Bake Time : 15 minutes  Yield : 24 deep dish cookies

Ingredients:

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1 cup dark brown sugar, packed

1/2 cup granulated cane sugar

2 eggs, room temperature

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp baking soda

1 1/2 tsp kosher salt

2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 TBSP cinnamon

3/4 cup sweet-tart apple [I used a Pink Cripps – a Gala would be a great substitute], diced finely

1/4 cup mini dark chocolate chips

12 Caramel Apple Milky Way Mini bars, cut in half

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 F.

2. Prepare a whoopie pie pan [like this] or muffin top pan [like this] by greasing with butter and dusting lightly with extra all-purpose flour.

3. Whisk together baking soda, salt, flour and cinnamon in a medium bowl until ingredients are mixed together.

4. Cream butter and sugars together in bowl of stand mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs and vanilla extract, mixing until just combined.

5. Add flour mixture in thirds, scraping sides of bowl as necessary. Add chocolate chips, apples, mixing until just combined.

6. Press a domed tablespoon of the cookie batter into each whoopie pie well. Top with a half of the Caramel Apple Milky Way bar. Top with an even tablespoon of the cookie batter. This additional TBSP doesn’t need to cover the whole cookie – just make sure it covers most of the Milky Way bar piece.

7. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until the edges are golden and the center is set.

8. Let cookies cool in pan for 10 minutes. Remove cookies to a wire rack to finish cooling entirely,

*Cookies will keep fresh in an airtight container at room temperature for 3-4 days. If they last that long in your household, that is! :)

What to do with the leftover Milky Way bars? Stay tuned to see my take on a highly-pinned recipe that always make me do double-takes. Let’s just say : apples + candy + cool whip. I’ll let you know what I thought next week!

5 comments
  1. Hey – I am making these right now and I’m confused…in the cooking steps it says to add chopped Milky Way bars with the apples, but the only milky way bars I see in the ingredients list are the 12 that need to be cut in half so one half can go in each cookie. Are there supposed to be additional chopped bars that go into the batter and if so how many…?

    • Thanks for bringing that to my attention! I only added the milky way bars, chopped in half, in between the two scoops of cookie dough. I’ll go ahead and edit the recipe to reflect that. Either way, the cookie will still be delicious – it just won’t have the one melty piece in the middle if you mixed the milky way bars in with the apples.

    • They were pretty good, Leah! Would’ve loved to have tried yours. We should swap treats next time. We can each do a spin on a recipe and see how each other interprets it!

Leave a Reply

