Caramel Apple Salad

When I first started using Pinterest [oh, about a year ago now?] there was a recipe that kept popping up in my feed. It seemed that everyone I was following was pinning this recipe for Snickers Apple Salad. Do you know which one I mean?

I kept turning up my nose at it, thinking “apples and cool whip and snickers? that CAN’T taste good”.

Fast forward a handful of months, find me staring at a half-empty bag of Caramel Apple Milky Way bars [the other half used for my deep dish cookies], modifying the pin-famous salad with these milky way bars and promptly inserting my foot in my mouth.

Now, by no means am I claiming this salad to be the next best thing since sliced bread! But come November 8th or so, when you’re tired of eating the Halloween left-overs the trick-or-treaters left behind, you might find this recipe a fun variation on plain old candy.

The best thing about it is you can probably sub in any variety of chocolate candies for the Milky Ways – think Snickers, Rolos, 3 Musketeers. Maybe even cutting up some Reeses Peanut Butter Cups or adding some M&Ms into the mix. I’d just think about the gorgeous cabinet at Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory stuffed with those varieties of caramel apples and use that as your inspiration!

So go ahead and join the masses – pin this recipe. You’ll thank yourself come mid-November.

xo,

@

Caramel Apple Salad

[adapted from Dana’s Snickers Salad at Dana Made It]

Prep time : 5 minutes  Yield : 4 servings

Ingredients:

4 Granny Smith apples

12 Caramel Apple Milky Way Mini bars [feel free to sub in regular Milky Way bars, Snickers bars or even Rolos]

1 container Cool Whip [If I’m being bad, I have to be bad all the way and I use the Extra Creamy]

Directions:

1. Core and dice the apples into small, bite size pieces. [I leave the skin on – that’s a personal preference].

2. Do the same with the candy bars.

3. Combine the apples, candy + cool whip in a large bowl then portion into 4 individual servings.

4. Voila!

Bizarre combination but really quite tasty. And a great variation on all the extra/leftover Halloween candy you’re about to have in a few weeks. Though I’m not sure I could imagine anyone getting tired of eating candy as-is, straight out of the wrapper!

4 comments
  1. Beth said:

    Obviously I’m a little behind on my blog reading…but finally work life is slowing down and I’m getting caught up! Did you happen to see the dessert that Chef’s Market up in Goodlettesville made for the Goo Goo promotion? It’s a Caramel Apple Goo Goo Salad! I haven’t had a chance to try it yet, but I’m definitely going to get up there and sample it before it’s gone. Sounds delicious! http://chefsmarket.wordpress.com/tag/goo-goo-caramel-apple-salad/

    • I did see that one on your round-up! It definitely sounds delicious and a bit more fresh than the somewhat cloyingly-sweet version with just Cool Whip. Would love to know what you think if you make it to Chef’s Market!

  2. sarahsjoys said:

    We love this, though I don’t think I’ve made it in a couple of years. Andy thinks it’s hilarious that I call it “salad!” Thanks for the reminder! I may just put it on the calendar for Nov 8th. ;)

Leave a Reply

