Pretzel Macadamia M&M Blondies

While I won’t turn up my nose at pretty much any baked good, I’m a huge sucker for brownies. Blondies even more so!

I had snacked on a handful of the seasonal White Chocolate Candy Corn M&M’s I recently picked up and liked them enough but knew they needed some salty crunch to balance out their chewy sweet. I think the addition of a pretzel crust along with some salted macadamia nuts finds that perfect balance between the two.

What do you think? Make these and let me know!

xo,

@

Pretzel Macadamia Candy Corn M&M Blondies

[adapted from Julie’s M&M White Chocolate Candy Corn Blondies at The Little Kitchen]

Prep time : 20 minutes  Bake Time : 25-28 minutes  Yield : 16 2″-ish square bars

Ingredients:

Pretzel Crust : 1 stick // 8 TBSP unsalted butter, melted mixed with 1 1/2 cups pretzels [I pulsed mine in our blender until it was a good mix of pulverized crumbs and small bite-sized pieces]

3/4 cup + 2 TBSP packed light brown sugar

1 large egg, room temperature

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 stick // 8 TBSP unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

3/4 cup Candy Corn M&M candies, roughly chopped

1/2 cup salted macadamia nuts, toasted + roughly chopped

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 325 F.

2. For the pretzel crust: Mix butter and pretzel. Press into a prepared 9″ square pan [or line with parchment paper for easiest removal – my preferred method].

3. Bake for 10 minutes to set crust.

4. For blondies: In a medium bowl, whisk flour and baking soda until evenly distributed.

5. Cream sugar and egg in bowl of stand mixer until light and fluffy. Add vanilla extract and melted butter. Mix until incorporated.

6. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture in thirds, scraping down the sides of the mixing bowl as necessary. Mix until just combined with each addition. Add chopped M&M candies and macadamia nuts last.

7. Pour batter into prepared pan.

8. Bake for 25-28 minutes or until the top is dry and a toothpick/cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean.

9. Cool in pan for 10 minutes before removing and setting on wire rack to cool completely.

10. Cut into 16 squares. Enjoy!

5 comments
  1. JulieD said:

    Wow, you took them to the next level…salty with sweet! Great job! :D

    • Thanks, Julie! I’m a huge salty-sweet tooth and I’m always looking for ways to pretzel-ify goodies [though it’s out of season, I’m itching to do my frozen chocolate-dipped key lime pie with a pretzel crust!]. Thanks for the excellent recipe + inspiration to start with!

  2. Are these the same version you gave me? If so, they’re flippin’ delicious. I ask because, if they are, I didn’t even realize that there were macadamia nuts in them. I’ve never considered myself a macadamia fan, but based on how quickly i gobbled these down, I must like ’em after all. HA!

    • Yep, the same exact ones! I’m glad you liked ’em! And I’m also _very_ glad you don’t have a nut allergy! Phew. Next time I should make sure before passing out treats! :)

Leave a Reply

