Smartie Blondies

[insert dumb blonde joke here] [get it? smartie? blondie? smart blonde?… *crickets*]

Anyone who has known me for even an obscenely short amount of time will probably hear of my obsession for cadbury chocolates. Woo me with Dairy Milk, Crunchy, Twirl, Flake or a Creme Egg. But when these roll around? Forget about it. My freezer will be stocked with bag upon bag for months to come.

Second favorite on my imports list are Nestle Smarties. Easily confusable with Hershey M&Ms. But really? Far superior. Smarties come in more colors, have a thicker shell + a coating with a distinct, sweet and tasty crunch.

The Husband, Jeremy, recently met with a work colleage from Canada who brought along with him a bag full of snack-sized boxes of Smarties. When Jeremy shared my obsession with Smarties and my recent foray into food blogging, said colleague left a handful of these jewel candy-filled boxes with him to inspire me. Or at least fill my belly!

I wanted to make sure the crunch + flavor of the Smarties wouldn’t be lost in the middle of a soft cake or chewy brownie, so I went with my go-to blondie recipe, tweaking a few things here and there and making sure the Smarties were the star of the show. It worked!

Do you have sweet treat or cooking ingredient you can only find at international market stores or gourmet groceries? Share your obsession!

xo,

@

Smartie Blondies

[adapted from my Pretzel Macadamia Candy Corn M&M Blondies]

Prep time : 20 minutes  Bake Time : 25-28 minutes  Yield : 1 8″ circle pan, 16 2″-ish square bars

Ingredients:

3/4 cup + 2 TBSP packed light brown sugar

1 large egg, room temperature

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 stick // 8 TBSP unsalted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 cup Smarties [optional : set aside 5 of each color to top blondies. if you’d rather, throw all the Smarties into the blondie batter instead.]

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

1/2 cup white chocolate chips

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 325 F.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk flour and baking soda until evenly distributed.

3. Cream sugar and egg in bowl of stand mixer until light and fluffy. Add vanilla extract and melted butter. Mix until incorporated.

4. Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture in thirds, scraping down the sides of the mixing bowl as necessary. Mix until just combined with each addition. Add Smarties and chocolate chips last, stirring until evenly and thoroughly combined.

5. Pour batter into prepared pan.

6. Bake for 25-28 minutes or until the top is dry and a toothpick/cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean.

7. Cool in pan for 10 minutes before removing and setting on wire rack to cool completely.

8. Cut into 16 squares. Enjoy!

Baker’s Note : blondies will keep in an airtight container at room temperature for 3-5 days.

5 comments
  1. Lesley Eats said:

    Ooh, these blondies do look quite smart. :)
    I’m a huge fan of Cadbury myself (though moreso the old Cadbury). The Fruit + Nut bar was my favorite. Okay, and Caramello. Yummmm.

    • I used to feel like such a nerd in HS b/c while everyone was going for the cheesy crisps + gooey chocolates, I preferred a Cadbury Fruit + Nut bar. With raisins. :) Still one of my favorites.

  2. I grew up in Africa and used to get Smarties from South Africa when we would visit. Good memories….and I agree. Smarties are far superior :-)

    • Isn’t it funny how certain foods can hold such specific memories for people? Every time I go to an Asian grocery I stock up on my favorite candies [I grew up in Hong Kong for 6 years]. Comfort food for the soul! :)

Leave a Reply

